Contrast

I’ve never been alone

I’ve never been in love

 

I’ve never had a friend

I’ve never had a mother

 

I’ve never had a childhood

I’ve never been a child

 

I’ve never been heard

I’ve never been seen

 

I’ve never been equal

I’ve never been a man

 

I’ve never been happy

I’ve never known stability

 

I’ve never read out loud

I’ve never written in silent

 

I’ve never made love

I’ve never consented

 

I’ve never given up

I’ve never wondered why

 

I’ve never been beaten

I’ve never cared

 

I’ve never asked God why

I’ve never thought he would answer

 

I’ve never cried for my loss

I’ve never known how

 

I’ve never said stop

I’ve never yelled help

 

I’ve never been so frozen with fear

I’ve never asked him why

 

I’ve never said this out loud

I’ve never been allowed

Leave a Reply

